Pin Challenge: Lemons and Baking Soda

Sorry it has taken me so long to post again! :3 Babies are hard work. Arya has been keeping me very busy and refuses to get good naps in. It’s a work in progress.

Like most people, I have a pintrest addiction! I love looking at all the different ideas, whether it’s for neat recipes, cute outfits, or health interests. I tend to hoard all of these pins but never try them out! So for this post, I have tried out two different pins for beauty tips using lemon and baking soda.

First Pin:

Lemon and Baking Soda Facial.

This one was actually very refreshing. All you need is a couple Tablespoons of baking soda and some lemon juice (fresh squeezed works better, but lemon juice from the bottle works as well).

As you mix the lemon juice little by little to the baking soda, you will see them react and fizz! It’s very fun. I made mine a little too watery the first time, so next time I will try making it a bit thicker.

While it didn’t make all of my blackheads magically disappear like they show in the photo, this did make my skin feel soft and refreshed! I let it sit for about 15 minutes, and it tingled slightly, but not uncomfortably. I have very sensitive skin and I had no problems at all using this mask.

Remember to use cold water when wiping it off and patting dry, following the treatment with your favorite moisturizer-I use Olay daily for sensitive skin.

I give this pin a GO.

 

Second Pin:

Baking Soda and Lemon Tan Line Fading

In this pin, they call for 1 cup of baking soda, 1/2 cup of water, and 1 to 2 lemons. That is actually way more than you will need for one treatment. I made only a half cup of the baking soda/water solution and have so much left over.

They direct you to wet the tan lined area and massage the baking soda paste in a circular motion across the whole area. The idea behind that is to gently exfoliate the area, helping to remove the old, tanned skin. After working it in for about a minute, rinse it off with cold water and take a lemon half and rub it on the tan lines for 1 to 2 minutes. This didn’t hurt, but I will warn you that it makes your skin appear red and splotchy. That is temporary, so fear not!

After you’ve rubbed it in for a bit, go ahead and rinse off. I did this right before a shower for the easiest clean up. At first it looked like it didn’t make any difference. But after a few hours, I did notice that it was slightly less noticeable. I will be doing this once a day for a week to confirm whether or not this actually works.

All in all, I feel like I had great success in these pins, and that facial is something I will now be doing once a week! The gentle exfoliating power of baking soda and the lightening power of lemon juice helps reduce dark spots from scarring, and leaves your skin feeling smooth and refreshed.

Have you ever tried out any of your pins? Were you successful? Please comment below, I’d love to hear your stories!

 

 

Leave a Reply

